New judges of the Million Dollar "Future Science Award" This female scientist


This year, China’s “Future Science Awards” added three new members of the Scientific Committee: Zha Xiaowei, a biophysicist at Harvard University, Xue Qikun, a physicist at Tsinghua University, and Zhang Shouwu, a mathematician at Princeton University. Among them, Harvard University biophysicist Zhuang Xiaowei was the judge of the sub-reward "Life Science Award".

New judges of the Million Dollar "Future Science Award" This female scientist -New-judges-of-the-Million-Dollar-quotFuture-Science-Awardquot-This-female-scientist

It is worth mentioning that Chinese scientist Zhuang Xiaowei from Harvard University and Howard Hughes Medical Institute has won the Breakthrough Prize in the field of biology. The Science Breakthrough Award is known as the "Oscar of Science" or the "Nobel Prize of the Deluxe Edition" because it is the highest-winning science award on a global scale. For the current session, the total prize money is 22 million US dollars, and Zhuang Xiaowei's bonus is as high as 3 million US dollars.

New judges of the Million Dollar "Future Science Award" This female scientist -1547632638_740_New-judges-of-the-Million-Dollar-quotFuture-Science-Awardquot-This-female-scientist

Zhuang Xiaowei

Zhuang Xiaowei's contribution is that she invented a super-resolution imaging technique called Random Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM) that breaks through the resolution limitations of optical microscopes and enables the discovery of hidden structures in cells. It is only one ten thousandth of the diameter of human hair, for example: the periodic membrane skeleton inside the brain neurons.

Zhuang Xiaowei, born in Ruoyi, Jiangsu Province in 1972, is the aura of “genius girl”. When he was 6 years old, he realized the atmospheric pressure exerted on a glass of water. Later, he left the myth of four major mechanical scores in the junior class of the Chinese University of Science and Technology. She developed a super-resolution imaging method (STORM) that produces "high-definition movies" for molecules and cell structures that are 10,000 times thinner than human hair. Unfortunately, she passed the Nobel Prize in the relevant field.

After completing his undergraduate study at the University of Science and Technology, Zhuang Xiaowei went to the University of California at Berkeley to pursue his Ph.D. She then completed postdoctoral research at Stanford University in the United States and was employed by Harvard University in 2001. She was elected to the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) in 2005. Professor Zhuang Xiaowei is a member of the American Academy of Sciences, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a foreign academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, a foreign academician of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fellow of the American Physical Society, and an honorary meeting of the Royal Society of Microscopy. Shi.

She was also awarded a Ph.D. degree from Stockholm University in Sweden and Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands. Professor Zhuang Xiaowei received the Macarthur Fellowship, the American Chemistry Society's Pure Chemistry Award, the American Physical Society's Max Delbruck Prize in Biological Physics, the Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics, and the American Academy of Sciences' Molecular Biology Award.

In an interview, someone asked, “Are you a successful female scientist, did you feel gender discrimination during your growth?”

Zhuang Xiaowei replied very bluntly: "Where are the results of your work, you get good results, regardless of gender, regardless of nationality!"

From the "study of school" on campus to the top of international science, Zhuang Xiaowei, a talented female scientist, has always become a world science coffee with her own strength and her work performance. The judge who served as the "Future Science Award" is the recognition of his strength.

a little more knowledge

What kind of award is the Future Science Award?

The Future Science Awards are sponsored by the Future Forum of Civil Science Public Welfare Organizations, donated by well-known domestic entrepreneurs and investors, and rewarded scientists who have made internationally influential original scientific research workers in Greater China. So far, they have been awarded 3 times, with a single prize of up to 1 million. Dollar. The current list of winners includes rice breeding expert Yuan Longping, Tsinghua University Shi Yigong, and China University of Science and Technology Pan Jianwei.

Source / @中国女性报微博, future forum WeChat public number


Charity In China Reported

Support Alipay/支付宝 To Donate

Scan Alipay QR Code

Thank you!
And we also accept the donation of Bitcoin.

Our Bitcoin address : 16ih3dGgfNf3TtrwgKzMnYbtixrQqEFk14

Scan QR Code

Thank you for your love

Post a comment

Before You Go,Mind Donate?

  One Donation
== One Big Hope !